Reverend Redbird

Preaching the Gospel of St. Louis Cardinal Baseball

Money Grumblings

Posted by The Right Reverend on February 9, 2006

Grumble, Grumble, Grumble, there is lots of complaining about the ownership and fears that the party may soon be over.

I can’t speak for every Cardinal fan, but I can speak for myself. My initial reaction to all this was one of disgust, until reason kicked in. Hey, isn’t this the ownership team the ones who replaced the real “penny-pinchers”? Isn’t this the onwership group that has drastically increased payroll, and has fielded a winning product consistenly? I am only 26, but I still remember some of the sad ol’ days of watching my team trade Willie McGee to save some dough.

There have been a lot of changes suddenly, and I think in the long run they maybe for the better. Cardinal fans are people, and of course most people don’t like change. And Cardinal baseball runs so rich with tradition. With so many of the changes happening at once, it’s human nature to wonder what the heck is going on and get fearful.

I’m not saying it’s right, but I’m one of these young, out-with-the-old types. You want to cry about KMOX? Get an XM satellite radio, and thank me for the suggestion later. Don’t like the new stadium? Please, the old stadium was an eyesore and a heat trap. I have fond memories there, sure, as most of you do. But from what I see of the new one, it’s a change for the good.

Really, all that worries me a little is the sell-off notion. I’m not burying my head in the sand, but until I see some real evidence that it’s imminent, I don’t see it happening. Not for a while, at least. If anything, the Cardinals are going to be even more of a money-maker. If I were DeWitt, I’d hold on a little longer because the value looks like it’s going to continue to rise.

2 Responses to “Money Grumblings”

  1. Anonymous said

    Perfect response to this. First time poster, but I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts over the past few months. Keep up the good work…

    MRCARD

  2. Tommy said

    “I’m not saying it’s right, but I’m one of these young, out-with-the-old types. You want to cry about KMOX? Get an XM satellite radio, and thank me for the suggestion later. Don’t like the new stadium? Please, the old stadium was an eyesore and a heat trap. I have fond memories there, sure, as most of you do. But from what I see of the new one, it’s a change for the good.”

    I’m a few years older then you (35), but I couldn’t agree more with the above statement(s). As you said, year after year ownership is putting a quality product on the field.

    My opinion, as an Apple/Mac user since 1987, is Card’s and Apple fans are very similar. We love our team/prodcut. Talk about it all the time. But when Apple or the Cards do something we don’t like we’re pretty darn vocal about it.

Leave a Reply

 
