Reverend Redbird

Preaching the Gospel of St. Louis Cardinal Baseball

Ah, Spring Training!

Posted by The Right Reverend on March 7, 2006

Scott Spiezio and Aaron Miles are tearing it up, and Junior Spivey looks lost, and some (Ryan at the Diaspora, ahem!)have already given up on him, somewhat irrationally I might add. Sorry, Ryan, you and I agree 98% of the time, but Dan’s got the right perspective, imo.

Jeff Suppan, Anthony Reyes, and Jason Marquis also have een ruffed up. But relax! It’s only spring training folks! Let’s not get too worried yet.

I’m more worried that I’ll even be able to get tickets. I was fully expecting my tax refund, which would’ve paid for my tickets this weekend. Well, I’m still waiting for my refund, and it sounds like it’ll take a miracle to get into newly dubbed “Baseball Heaven” this summer. Oh, well, as the Right Reverend I guess I gotta believe in miracles. I did save myself some headache according to Pip over at Fungoes. The 26th Man also humorously shares his woes.

Anyway, back to spring training. I admit I was overly giddy for spring training to start, and I admit I about did a jig for joy just to hear the sound of Mike Shannon calling a real live Cardinal game. But now, I can’t wait until it’s over. Sure, it’s sorta been fun to watch Ponson, Reyes, and Wainwright battle for the 5th starter job so far, and it still interests me highly. But after watching Travis Hanson commit 3 errors in like 2 minutes Sunday, and listening into the late innings when the Cardinals trot out the likes of Randy Leek or Andy Cavazos, I admit my attention wanes. Maybe this World Baseball Classic happening during Spring Training isn’t such a horrible idea after all.

On a personal note, I’m happy for Spiezio and Wainwright so far, but I repeat myself again, it’s only spring training and what’s transpired thus far must be taken with a grain of salt. I am rooting that both make the team, however.

 

 

One Response to “Ah, Spring Training!”

  1. Chris said

    Just wanted to drop in and let you know that I’ve enjoyed reading your site for quite some time now. I recently started my own blog and added your site to my blogroll along with some of the others I’ve enjoyed reading. If you get the chance, drop by sometime and let me know what you think; any feedback/criticism would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Chris
    http://www.inwaltwetrust.com

Leave a Reply

 
